CONTACT US  |  PARENTS  |  STUDENTS  |  STAFF  |  ABOUT US  |  INDEX
COLYTON GRAMMAR SCHOOL
Expectation & Excellence
established 1546

TEN TORS

Ten Tors is a challenge for 14-18 year olds from schools and youth organisations. Teams of six have to walk 35, 45 or 55 miles across Dartmoor, visiting ten tors on the way. Leaving at 7am on Saturday, they have to be completely self-sufficient, camp overnight on the moor and return to Okehampton Camp by 5pm on Sunday.  Colyton Grammar School has a proud history of involvement in the event and entered several teams in 2017.

The date for the 2018 Ten Tors Challenge is 11-13 May 2018, and here is a link to the official website.

Introductory letter for parents -

PROPOSED TRAINING PROGRAMME FOR 2017/18

Sun 8 Oct 2017
(approx 18/25 miles)
Footpaths & byways around Sidmouth.

Sat 4 Nov 2017 (approx 16 /20miles)
Haytor & Hameldown
Footpaths and tracks on the moor around Haytor and across Hameldown.
An introduction to map reading and walking on Dartmoor.
Parents' letters: 35 mile team - - 55 mile team -

Sat 3 Feb 2018
Navigation Training South Dartmoor
Micro-navigation training.
Hopefully poor visibility to make this more challenging!

Sun 25 Feb 2018
South Dartmoor walk & Navigation Practice
A chance to develop team skills and practice navigation.

Sat 10 & Sun 11 March 2018
North Moor Camping Weekend
North Moor walk with full expedition equipment & camp.

Sun 25 Mar 2018
South Moor Walk

Sat 14 & Sun 15 April 2018
Practice Expedition (30+ miles)
With full expedition equipment. Wild camping. 

Sat 21 - Sun 22 April 2018
Reserve Camping Weekend

Sun 29 Apr 2018
Final training for teams only

Fri 11 - Sun 13 May 2018
TEN TORS CHALLENGE

Final preparations in school on Friday morning, arrive at Okehampton Camp early Friday afternoon.

PHOTO GALLERY:


Click here for the Photo Archive